When life hands you lemons, make persimmon cookies!

It’s the beginning of December and the Hachiya persimmons are finally soft and ripe. For a few months I’ve been hoping to create a persimmon preserve that would capture that sweet luscious flavor that I love so much.

Persimmons

The other day I carefully picked a handful of these beautiful orange fruits, brought them home, and got to work.  To start I scooped the flesh of a few persimmons, added two tablespoons of brown sugar, a tablespoon of evaporated cane juice, and a teaspoon and half of finely chopped home made crystallized ginger.

Chopped Persimmons

Persimmon Puree

To make a long story short, my persimmon preserves turned out to be an epic fail.  The wonderful sweet flavor turned chalky as did the beautiful orange color.  However, then a saying came to mind, “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade” or in my case my grandma’s persimmon cookies!

Persimmon Cookies

INGREDIENTS

Persimmon Mixture
1 cup Hachiya persimmon puree
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp cane sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 ½ tsp crystallized ginger finely chopped

Wet Ingredients
1 cup softened salted butter
1 ½ cups sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp lemon juice
2 tbsp tangerine or orange juice

Dry Ingredients
3 cups sifted flour
½ tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp nutmeg
½ tsp cloves
¾ cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350°.

Thoroughly mix to combine the persimmon puree, 2 tbsp brown sugar, 1 tbsp cane sugar, and baking soda and then set aside.

Wet Ingredients: Using a stand or hand mixer, cream the butter and sugar.  Next, add the egg, vanilla, lemon juice, & orange or tangerine juice and continue mixing until light and fluffy.  Then add the persimmon mixture and mix to combine.  When it’s ready you’ll end up with this beautiful peachy colored fluffy mixture.

Dry Ingredients: Sift the flour a second time with the baking powder, salt, and spices.  Then slowly add to the wet ingredients.  Once thoroughly combined fold in the walnuts.

Using a small ice cream scoop or a tablespoon drop rounded mounds 2 inches apart onto a parchment lined or greased cookie sheet and bake for 12 minutes.  This recipe will make about 4-5 dozen.

After baking remove to cooling rack.  However, they’re quite tasty warm out of the oven!

Persimmon Cookies & Guyusa Amazon Spice Tea

I’ve think these cookies are absolutely wonderful with Guayusa Amazon Spice tea that I found at Satori Tea Shop in San Jose.  For a little something extra try pairing with Serendipity Spiced Carrot Jam.  The cookies, jam, and tea compliment each other beautifully, especially on cold and overcast days.

Until next time.

Serendipitously,

Kristen

16 thoughts on “When life hands you lemons, make persimmon cookies!

  1. Apparently I missed the boat because I’ve NEVER had a persimmon! I don’t think I’ve even ever SEEN one! My before-2010-ends resolution is now to find and eat a persimmon.

    …………. you CAN eat them raw, right? Just like an apple? 😉

    • Really?! You’ve never had a persimmon? Fuyu’s are great to eat raw. They’re crunchy like apples and are great in salads. They Hachiyas are great for baking but you have to wait until they’re soft otherwise they are very chalky. Happy hunting!

  2. I’ve just had my first Fuyu persimmons this season and have been adding them to salads with goat cheese, arugula and pomegranate seeds. Love it! Now I want to try your recipe with the Hachiyas! How do you make the home made crystallized ginger? Thank you:)

    • Hi Marge – The crystallized ginger was easy but took while to make. Next time I make it I’ll have to do a post.
      However, in a nut shell, cut the ginger into small cubes, add to a small sauce pan, cover it in water, let it simmer until it’s soft. Then strain the ginger from the ginger water. Return it to the sauce pan and add equal parts sugar and water. Bring up to a boil and then reduce heat and cook until sugar has dissolved. Remove from heat and let sit for 24 hours. Then strain the syrup for the ginger into a bottle or discard, I’ve found a few uses for the syrup and so I kept it, and spread ginger on a parchment lined cookie sheet (I used a small on for a toaster oven). Place the ginger in a 175-200 degree toaster oven for a few hours until the ginger has dried out. Then toss it with some sugar and place in a jar.

  3. great job re-using your blooped jam! i made persimmon butter last year…too astringent…but makes a good sub for bananas in baking.

    i did make persimmon jam. one was with baking soda–dark purple. it also is too astringent but i made a nice pastry with it–a tiny bun stuffed with the jam and mozzarella.

    another batch of jam turned out very successful. no baking soda. cooked it only for a short time. used pomona’s pectin to aide in gelling. i put cardamom in it and it is lovely.

    persimmon is great…but a tough fruit to work with.

    thanks so much for sharing your cookie recipe!

  4. I’ve been looking for a little persimmony inspiration! These look fabulous, will have to try them out

  5. I love persimmons, whereas my partner does not. He seems to get some sort of allergic reaction.
    Would cutting back sugar by one-quarter be ok?

    • Hi Jean, I think your question would be best answered by your partner’s medical professional.

      As for cutting the sugar. I say go ahead and try! I don’t find the cookies to overly sweet but we all have different tastes.

      Hope this helps.

      Kristen

  6. My husband and I recently moved onto a rural property in eastern San Diego County with several mature, producing fruit trees, two of which are Fuyu persimmons. I’ve been wandering out to the front pasture every once in awhile watching them ripen, but despairing of what on earth I’m going to do with all those persimmons when they’re finally ready to pick. I’m so glad I stumbled on this recipe! – it looks delicious!!

Leave a Reply

